Almost screwed myself

Instead of paying attention to med shifts, and getting up around 1 or so at the latest, but I decided to wait until 2-ish, when Christopher would be there. I will never do that again.

Being moved in that hydraulic lift can be excruciating. That, then being plunked down into the chair, then being jerked around to adjust me, well, it just ain’t pleasant. Suffice it to say that right after being seated is the only time I always need a breakthrough Methadone.

However, it turned out I was way at the last strings of the Methodone, not to mention the aides’ shift. They did the sack of potatoes routine, then ran out. I was miserable, and getting worse every minute. The nurse got me my second base dose, but finding two aides just coming on duty to put me back to bed seemed like it took forever.

Oh, the motor chair came, but I have to have some tech to show me how to drive it. It looks narrow, though, painfully narrow. I’ll reserve my opinion on it, but I suspect we may have to search for another, wider, chair.

Ah. The base dose is starting to take effect. More later, maybe.

8 Responses to Almost screwed myself

  1. Xopher says:

    It seems like there is a time zone right around when the first shift is wrapping up and second shift personnel are arriving, when it can be problematic to need anything. They have a bunch of tasks then – the departing shift briefs arriving staff on what’s going on with various residents; the LPNs have to do an inventory of the meds in stock. It’s hard to get anyone’s attention right at that time.

  2. Pam says:

    I agree change of shift is a bad time to need extra attention. You might try prophylactic dose of methadone prior to the daily trapeze act. Might make it so you can enjoy your mobility. Is the new dosage helping?
    Thinking of you,
    Pam

  3. s-p says:

    Yep, I’ve been there when Gary was needing attention during shift changes. Good luck with that. I hope your chair works out. Mobility is good, unfortunately Gary is way over 300 pounds and the staff doesn’t seem to want to do much with him. I’ve been told by CNA’s that obese people get neglected. sigh.

  4. Nathan says:

    The increase seems to be helping him. However while he is adjusting to the increase he is going in and out of sleep. The electric chair they got is to narrow and Krista said that she isn’t even going to try to fit him in it. Also she said she would see if she can get one that would be better suited to him. But she did say that it is not clear on if they can make this happen as hospice may deny a custom chair.

    He has been in the wheelchair for about 3 hours now while waiting on the airbed to be inflated. They are currently putting the sheets on it now. Should be laying him back down in his bed soon.

    I will be staying around long enough to watch the colts game on tv and then I will have to drive back to Cincinnati tonight. Work told me that they could not let me telecommute until they got approval from the other accounts. I’m hoping that they let me work from up here in Jan.

  5. Margaret says:

    And nowadays, if you’re a nurse and you want to stay a bit longer, just to smooth things over, just a smidgin of that extra mile for your patients, your colleagues and managers will eat you. Is why I quit.

    I think of you often, Mark, and I hope that you find comfort where you ought.

  6. Wyatt Earp says:

    If you’re watching the Flyers/Pens game, look closely. Mrs. Earp is there with my sister.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  7. Lisa Bou says:

    Clay, about the new chair, have them or Chris investigate getting you a Rojo cushion. My MS quads group is always talking about those. They increase the comfort of being in the chair and diminish the risk of pressure sores.

    I also have online friends who are much heavier than you who use bariatric chairs. There’s a site I found called http://www.bigandtallmobility.com/. Check it out. May have items of use.

    About meds, I’m thinking along Pam’s lines. Can you time the lifting to coincide with a time when you’ve had the methadone fairly recently but are also lucid enough to navigate the chair?

    Love you!!

    Lisa

  8. Wyatt Earp says:

    Morning Prof, how are ya doing today?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

