Bright Week pictures

Our parish here, Holy Trinity Orthodox Church.

holy-trinity

For Lauren. Where we confess.

Where you’ll find me: In the choir.

All Bright Week, the Royal Doors and the Deacons Doors are open to symbolize the empty tomb

The altar and tabernacle.

Holy Trinity (the whole set).

4 Responses to Bright Week pictures

  1. Lauren says:

    I love it! Thank you for this, and for the “tag”.

  2. JaneC says:

    So, do you confess standing up? Because at the Eastern Catholic parishes where I’ve gone to confession, I’ve been asked to kneel. Does this differ among the various Eastern Churches? Is kneeling a Westernization?

  3. rwp says:

    “So, do you confess standing up? Because at the Eastern Catholic parishes where I’ve gone to confession, I’ve been asked to kneel. Does this differ among the various Eastern Churches? Is kneeling a Westernization?”

    For confession, yes, although I have seen it in one Greek church. Lauren has a picture of a Russian Orthodox confession here.

  4. Lauren says:

    I actually was very fortunate to attend Russian Orthodox Vespers/Matins/Lauds this Saturday evening — one of the most beautiful things I have witnessed. In one of the corners, I also witnessed confession going on (being very careful to stand as far away from the penitents as possible). Still a little nerve-wracking to a Roman Catholic, though I understand much better. And very beautiful. I shall attempt to find an Eastern Catholic church with this practice. I suspect my Ukrainian parish might offer it.

Leave a Reply

