New category

You’ll notice a new category, The Great Orthodox-Catholic Paradox. I haven’t defined it, because it’s a broad, er, meta-paradox (?) that shows itself in so many ways. It usually has something to do with ecclesiology or structure, and today’s example, related to narcissism, is that while strictly top-down organized Catholicism has its share of problems with narcissism blaspheming the liturgy, not so top-down Orthodoxy has relatively few. A point to contemplate.

2 Responses to New category

  1. Although I agree with much of what you write, I think that your representation of Catholicism as being a strictly, “top down” organization is a bit of a misrepresentation. The Pope does not function as a Czar or dictator. He is a servant to Christ, and as the Church functions throughout the world he is not a “micromanager.” The bishops of the Church function very much autonomously. It is the union of the Chair of Peter that unites the bishops, and it extends even further than the Pope himself, but ultimately to Christ and the Sacraments. Whether you realize it or not, even the Orthodox share in this unity because of the Divine Liturgy, the Sacraments and the priesthood.

    I hope you are doing better. I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate circumstances of late. I will keep you in my prayers. I am very interested in advancing the unity of Catholics and Orthodox Christians. I would be interested in dialoging with you on various theological issues concerning Catholicism and Orthodoxy if you have the time. Take care and may God bless and keep you!

  2. rwp says:

    Matthew (they just put in a new iv so my typing may be a bit odd), you and I are actually making the same point, just looking at it from different directions. We are both saying the same thing; I am seeing it as a paradox which will become clearer as I further talk about the paradox.

    Sorry. Too much morphine, too much awkwardness from trying to type with all thess tubes.

Leave a Reply

