Reading

I grew up in a small, rural town in Southern Indiana – the same town, incidentally as Larry Bird, who was In my class. One of the things I’d like to do in the time I have left is document, for my family, for my community, and for myself, people who would otherwise be forgotten, and I am going to begin with my mother, largely because she has so much to do with who and where I am today – even though I am going to use her largely as a springboard today, and return to her later.

She was a music teacher in our town of 2,000, a pianist, and a voice teacher. Hers was the Campbellite side of my rather intriguingly mixed religious family, and she was the choir director in the local Disciples of Christ Church, which perhaps makes me somewhat more sympathetic to Christopher Reeves and Dr Bob.

I don’t have the most attractive voice, but I have an excellent ear. I have done a little reading, and if I can ever resume giving back to Holy Trinity, I would like to read. (For those not Orthodox, reading is not reading: it is plainchant. When we “read” the Epistle, we do not read or recite it: We chant it.) I do not have the time, or probably will not have the energy, to learn the tones, so reading is a more realistic goal, and Deacon Alex kindly worked on it with me.

I love liturgical music. It is really the only way to use what God gave me to worship Him. I am, however, extremely nervous singing solo, although I can get over that, if people will please be patient. If my time were not so limited, I would love to work with Christopher Reeves to learn Znamenny chant, but I do not have the time to do so. So I want, if at all possible, the chance to read a little in church as a meager attempt to return the amazing Christian compassion all of those at Holy Trinity have shown me to the greater glory of God. It may or may not be possible, depending on how much time and strength I have.

I am rapidly crashing and need to break. Glory to Jesus Christ!

One Response to Reading

  1. I love to hear chanting, it lifts my spirits and helps me focus. My church used to chant the psalms, before we got our new priest, now we kind of sing them with an organ accompanying.
    I hope you get the chance to do the reading, that would be awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

