Flip-flop night

Yesterday was up and down — really up and down. Yesterday began okay, as today is, with pain still well managed. When I was pulled up in bed, though, it was accompanied by jarring pain, that now encircled my lungs. And that was before I got my first regular pain med dose for the day.

The rest of the day I was miserable, although pain management started to work hours later, around 4, after taking numerous breakthrough doses. That’s the problem with pain management. You have to stay ahead of the pain, and once you start to get caught up, it takes a long time to accomplish.

The highly increased lung pain never was managed, really, until I took my midnight regular dose. But that, thank God, brought the pain under control, and I slept non-stop until this morning. Slept well, and got up in a positive mood.

7 Responses to Flip-flop night

  1. Xopher says:

    I’m so sorry you had that much trouble with pain, yesterday. I hope today continues to keep ahead of it. See you later today.

  2. Former NYC Math Teacher says:

    Happy to hear that you’re in a positive mood!

  3. Lisa Bou says:

    Oh, sweetie. I’m sorry yesterday was so bad, but I’m grateful today is looking better.

    How are you in terms of being able to talk on the phone? I’ve got your cell phone number from Phyllis, but I haven’t wanted to call you if that’s too taxing. Let me know.

    Love you,

    Lisa

  4. Wyatt Earp says:

    Sorry you had a bad day, but at least the sleep was restful. Stay strong.

  5. Getting to the pain before it gets a hold is how I have to deal with headaches. If I don’t catch it right away I’m in for a painful ride. I’m glad that they finally got yours under control and you were able to sleep good last night.
    Hospice workers are very nice and deal with all kinds of things, including counseling you and your family members. The fact that one has a priest is a bonus. I was going to talk to my husband about coming to see you when we go up to Indiana, but, honestly I don’t know if he will or not. You know how men are when it comes to keeping a schedule on trips. I think he even times our bathroom visits. lol

  6. PeggyU says:

    I think lack of sleep magnifies pain. Glad to hear you got some rest and that you are feeling a little better!

  7. Anna says:

    Glad to hear you got the pain under control, and you got a full nights sleep. The pain management was the hardest part for Dad. I found with him, the more rest he got, the better he felt. So, keep getting your rest.

    Love, Anna

Leave a Reply

